About IAS Pattern

The pattern of Civil services examination has been designed to test the academic expertise of a candidate and that candidate's ability to present himself/herself in a systematic and coherent manner. The examination pattern intends to assess the overall intellectual traits and understanding level of the candidates.

The UPSC Civil Services Exam is conducted in three stages namely, Prelims and Mains, which are then followed by an interview.

Scheme and subjects for the Preliminary and Main Examinations are as follows:

Preliminary Examination (400 Marks)
[This is also called Civil Services Aptitude Test (CSAT) and is a common test for all applicants]

The Prelims consists of two papers of 200 marks each Both the question papers are of the objective type (multiple choice questions) of two hours each The question papers will be set in both Hindi and English. However, questions related to English Language Comprehension skills would be provided only in English. Blind candidates would be allowed an extra 20 minutes of time for each paper.

Main Examination & Interview (2075 Marks)

Candidates who qualify Preliminary exam are called for Main exam and on the basis of marks secured in Main exam; they will be called for Interview The total marks of Main exam and Interview sum up to produce final result The written examination consists of the following papers:

Qualifying Papers

Paper I (Marks 300) One of the Indian Languages to be selected by the candidates from the Languages included in the eighth schedule of the constitution

Paper II (Marks 300) English

Enroll Now

Registration Open For New Batches